DMV – a wallet opening experience

In February, I went online and made an appointment with the California DMV. Luckily, I was able to get an appointment online for today, March 21, at the Barstow office. The soonest I could get one at the somewhat local Victorville office was at the end of April.
First, I was informed that I had to pay a late fee since I was past the 30 days allowance given to register a vehicle. I had a copy of my receipt showing I made the appointment the weekend after we bought the vehicle. My attendant said “she understands, but their policy is you have to register within 30 days of purchase and the DMV is open daily”. Grrrrrr
As if that wasn’t enough to ruin my DMV experience she then told me “All the years this vehicle was not registered needs to be repaid, since it was not non-opt”. AND, in addition to the back fees there are penalties attached for each year it wasn’t registered. This rule applies to all vehicles; cars, trucks, motor cycles, boats, as well as off-road quads, and motor cycles too. I was told this rule has always been on the books. It doesn’t matter if a vehicle is running or not. Nor does it matter that the seller would sign a notice saying that it was not operational.
The attendant helpfully suggested I could go back to the seller and collect the unpaid registration fees and penalties. I thought “Since when has enforcing that others pay their dues and/or obey law the become my responsibility?” answer….Today!!!!!

About Grandee

Grandee… that’s me Family is first and foremost to me. My husband and I are blessed with two children and their wonderful spouses who have given us five wonderful grand children. Hence my name “Grandee”… given to me by our daughter's first child.
This entry was posted in Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

