Veggie Garden Plans

I’m ready to layout our veggie garden – with seeds ordered and delivered it’s time to draw up the plans. Growing a garden in the Hi Desert definitely has its own challenges. Yet, it’s still one of the most rewarding activities we enjoy.

To meet the challenge we created an artificial shade for our lettuce and spinach which we are hoping will stop them from bolting early. The artificial shade will also provide a much-needed wind block from the hot desert winds. Last year we used horse water tubs for our raised gardens. This year we are going to incorporate the old straw bales to increase our raised garden planting area. I’m really looking forward to this years garden.

Plans for this years spring/summer garden include. Various types of heirloom lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers a few radishes, as well as both onion and garlic chives which are already up and ready to harvest, all of which will make delicious salads. We are planting red, green and yellow Bell Peppers which can be added to salads or stir fries. Hubby likes hot peppers but I prefer mild peppers which we’ll used for salsa and home-made chili rellenos.

We are looking forward to harvesting green beans and Okra both of which grow well here, in the high desert, as does zucchini and many other members of the squash family. My favorite is squash is Spaghetti squash. I’m also going to plant sugar pumpkin this year for the kid in us as well as for the grand children. Looking forward to making fresh pumpkin pies this fall.

Since we’re expanding our garden area this year we missed the fall planting so I can’t wait for spring to get here. I’ll be starting my seeds inside next week…. I’m ready to plant

About Grandee

Grandee… that’s me Family is first and foremost to me. My husband and I are blessed with two children and their wonderful spouses who have given us five wonderful grand children. Hence my name “Grandee”… given to me by our daughter's first child.
This entry was posted in Gardening and Farming. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

