“I AM”

When I watched Oprah’s interview with Tom Shadyac a few weeks ago I decided I would really like to see his movie “I Am”. I felt as if I resonated with him, not with his stardom or monetarily success obviously, but in his new-found belief of what makes us happy. He believes money isn’t the end all to happiness. His thought that doing something you enjoy and being with someone you love enables you to have a healthier form of life. That makes sense to me.

His story is about living in the Hollywood rat race, working his way to the top. All the while becoming someone others needed him to be and not following his heart. Then one day he realize “I made it” however, in reality he didn’t! He lost himself in the process! He believed the loss of such a big part of his inner self, as well as his time and his energy emptied him instead of fulfilling his life.

He feels life is so much more satisfying and productive when you are true to one’s self. That big houses and lots of cars and cash do not equal happiness. I completely agree.

About Grandee

Grandee… that’s me Family is first and foremost to me. My husband and I are blessed with two children and their wonderful spouses who have given us five wonderful grand children. Hence my name “Grandee”… given to me by our daughter's first child.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

