Packing to move is more than just packing it’s …


Packing to move is more than just packing it’s reviving treasured memories…
Although, my goal has been to pack two boxes each day. Which, by the way, I have been doing a pretty darn good job at accomplishing. I think it takes me twice as long to pack than most, not because I’m hobbling, but as in today case, while emptying the china closet the memories of someone in our family coming rushing to the forefront of my mind.

I was in the last month of pregnancy with our daughter and wasn’t permitted to travel. When Hubby and his Dad went to Oklahoma to bring Grand Dad’s dining room set to California. I must admit the old claw foot table and the china closet were not very pretty when the arrived. The glass was broken in the china closet and it was reminiscent of a faded avocado green milk paint. The dining room table was almost black from years of stains that had aged something awful. My Father-in-law question the wisdom of me wanting to keep such pieces. After having both of them refurbished and lovingly used for the last 34 years the stewardship of these family treasures will now go to our daughter.

Hubby and I used to joke about if this table could talk the tales it could tell about our family history. Hubby’s Grand Dad and Grand Mother, celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary around that table. The table originally belonged to Hubby’s Paternal Great Grand Parents and the china closet belonged to Hubby’s Paternal Great Grand Mother’s Parents.

Tomorrow, I will start packing our bedroom. The bedroom furniture belonged to Hubby’s parents when he was a child. They gave it to him when he turned 18. It was the first “New” furniture they ever purchased. Our son will be the third generation to own and care for this furniture. The old four poster bed still looks like a double bed. Yet, hubby customized it to accommodate a queen mattress without damaging the integrity of the original frame. All the nicks in the post came from hubby riding his trike around the house and running into the bed. He wasn’t allowed to ride his trike outside unless his folks were out there with him.

The china closet contained blue and white English transfer wear china plates such as the one given to us by my Aunt Marge, during our trip back to England. Another one from my best friend Sharon, who lost her bout with cancer. One from our first set of first set plates, that disappeared as our daughter learned how to wash dishes. Grandmother’s crystal glasses, hubby’s mother’s old pink carnival glass candle holders, wine glasses from my Dad and much more. Each piece inspires memories of time spent with each and every person. Each items triggering a fond memory I’ll treasure forever. Some pieces like the crystal horse given by a long lost friend reminds me how fragile a friendships becomes.

See why it takes me so long to pack? I did pack two boxes today. Even though I had to unpack and re-pack the contents of one box into two boxes as it was way too heavy. I never would have thought that old bowls, plates and platters would weigh more than the equivalent size box of books. Oh well. I packed my two boxes today and I already have plans on what will fill tomorrow’s boxes.

About Grandee

Grandee… that’s me Family is first and foremost to me. My husband and I are blessed with two children and their wonderful spouses who have given us five wonderful grand children. Hence my name “Grandee”… given to me by our daughter's first child.
This entry was posted in Home sales/purchase. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Packing to move is more than just packing it’s …

  1. ❤ beautifully written! I wish I had more memories like that

Leave a Reply

