Family History aka Our Genealogy


Sarah Luman and Lular Jane Luman Corbin (Dock Corbin’s wife)

While resting with my leg elevated these last few months I have had a lot time to dive into our family history and do more research. My membership to ancestry.com has allowed me to progress immensely over the last few years. Using ancestry.com has enabled me to locate documents, meet distant relatives, and acquire pictures of great, great, great grand parents, aunts, uncles and more.

I’ve learned that my Father’s Maternal and Paternal Grand Parents were Master Plaster’s for, I believe, 9 generations until my Father’s generation. Master Plaster’s did it all from plain to fancy Brick work to making and repairing Gargoyles (sometimes they’re scary looking other times they’re somewhat fancy drain spouts). To my knowledge the women in my Father’s family didn’t work outside the home.

On my Mother’s side her Father worked in the horse racing industry as a groom, as was my Great Uncle. My Uncle was a Jockey in Ireland who succumbed to Tuberculous. A professional Groom, one who cared for all the horses needs including: feeding, grooming, exercising, general health, some even shod the horses. (They were compensated for doing what we pay to do!!! Hubby and I should be grooms too!) My Grand Mother worked as a Laundress, one who takes in other’s laundry, ironing and does alterations.

On Hubby’s Father’s side his Paternal Grand Father was the first of his generation to not work throughout his life in Coal Mines. His family came from Northern England where for 5 generations prior to him they all worked in the Coal Mines, in England. Grand Dad, worked in the Coal Mine in Oklahoma long enough to earn his pension. Then he became the Constable of Coalgate, OK. Later on Grand Dad opened his own Taxi Service, which he operated until turning 85 years old. His most famous customer was “Pretty Boy Floyd”. Who was the “best tipper” he ever had, that we learned from Grand Dad himself. I wish we would have taped his telling of his life story. Unfortunately, we don’t know that much about Hubby’s Grand Mother’s family as of yet.

On Hubby’s Mother’s side his Grandfather’s family were Farmers for as long as I’ve been able to trace back. The average Family Farm were a small holdings of 100 acres or more worked solely by the family. They were Southerners who supported and fought in the Civil War. Feeling strongly enough in Federal and State economic separation and to support the division of Southern States from the Northern States. They believed the South could support its self as its own nation.
Their family folklore has stories yet to be confirmed but they are interesting none the less. I’ll write more about that at a later date. Hubby’s Grand Mother’s family were in the legal profession. Her father was a Lawyer then became a Judge. That’s all we know about her family as of yet.

I’m finding it much more difficult to research the women’s side of the family than the men’s side. Unless I can find a marriage certificate it’s very hard to learn the maiden names of many of the great grandmother’s. Seems just about the time I’m getting so frustrated and ready to give up a clue comes my way. Some times I feel as if the clue is just a carrot to keep me striving towards my goal.

About Grandee

Grandee… that’s me Family is first and foremost to me. My husband and I are blessed with two children and their wonderful spouses who have given us five wonderful grand children. Hence my name “Grandee”… given to me by our daughter's first child.
This entry was posted in Genealogy – Family Heritage. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

