Looking out our window

Looking out our window across to the arena the view gets better and better each year. One day all the trees and bushes we planted will be all grown up and so beautiful. I’m so glad I took the Horticulture classes at VVC if for no other reason than I learned how to grow a larger variety of plants whose watering needs are much less. The upside is I have a lot of green around me without a huge water bill.
I have fond memories of my Horticulture classes at VVC… one of the funniest is: our class was on a field trip to a site where our goal was to re-establish a disturbed plant community. We had decided to use native plants to the area; which we explained to the property owner would need little to no irrigation once established. The owner of the property, however, thought Xeriscaping meant no water! Needless to say when we returned a few weeks later to plant some more the original ones had died of thirst! The second set survived and thrived as they were watered until their roots developed and grew deep into the desert ground.

About Grandee

Grandee… that’s me Family is first and foremost to me. My husband and I are blessed with two children and their wonderful spouses who have given us five wonderful grand children. Hence my name “Grandee”… given to me by our daughter's first child.
This entry was posted in Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

