Daddy’s Birthday

Today is my Dad’s birthday. I’m very fortunate to have a Father that I admire and respect. Sure he’s made his share of mistakes, we all do and will, but his core being is that of an inner strength and respect for himself, his family and others as well as his environment.
I think what I learned most from him is that I can. If I put my mind to it I can do anything…even algebra! Although, I must say math and I are not the greatest of buddies, but I did learn algebra lol. He was the one that said you can ride that horse, just learn her language. Yes, you can train the colt, I was in Jr. High, be patient and teach him to trust you. It was his belief that I could; that gave me the confidence to try and achieve many goals throughout life.
I remember, when I was 8 or 9 he’d talk about how he’d like to go deep-sea diving. It wasn’t long afterwards that he learned how and we got to watch him struggle into his black diving suit and tanks and then disappear into the ocean. It seemed an eternity before he returned. Sometimes I’d sit on the beach and wait for him hoping the whales hadn’t swallow him. He’d always return with a smile and some abalone for dinner. I think his example of having a goal, learning how to achieve it and achieving one’s goal spoke as much if not more than his encouraging attitude.
As Daddy’s little girl you often forget he is a man in his own right, because no matter how old you get he’s still your Daddy and you’re still his little girl. Happy Birthday Daddy, and thank you.
Love you

About Grandee

Grandee… that’s me Family is first and foremost to me. My husband and I are blessed with two children and their wonderful spouses who have given us five wonderful grand children. Hence my name “Grandee”… given to me by our daughter's first child.
This entry was posted in Stampin4Shore. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

