Heading West…day two

Our plan today was to drive to Fort Smith, Arkansas but we didn’t get that far. We only made it as far as Conway, about 150 miles short of our plan; due to a tire blow out on the trailer. After Hubby replace the tire with the spare we decided to purchase another spare…for just in case.

We ended up replacing all three of the other tires. The tires didn’t look old or worn; but then neither did the one that had the blow out. It still had a lot of tread and it didn’t even have weather cracks. The tire shop owner informed us he no longer carried that particular brand do to their tendency to have blow outs when used on long hauls. The tires were 3 or 4 years old, so it was better to be safe than sorry.

Once we got back on the road it started raining, not very hard just that soft rain that makes you want to get home and have a nice cup of hot chocolate. Then we hit an area were they were working on the hwy. Had it down to one lane with those cement sides on both sides of the lane. I hate those especially when I’m pulling a trailer.  The road was rough and bumpy, part of it was on the bumps that are supposed to wake you if you fall asleep. And as if that wasn’t enough to make me nervous; a police car was right be hind me making me even more nervous. Why I have no idea, I wasn’t doing anything wrong. Just going a bit slower that the already reduced speed limits.

When we finally reached the hotel in Conway we both went swimming and and I swam away all of today’s aggravations.

Tomorrow when we reach Oklahoma City we’ll be half way home!!!  We’ll begin the second half of the journey driving through the rest of Oklahoma and continuing our route to Amarillo, Texas and then New Mexico.

About Grandee

Grandee… that’s me Family is first and foremost to me. My husband and I are blessed with two children and their wonderful spouses who have given us five wonderful grand children. Hence my name “Grandee”… given to me by our daughter's first child.
This entry was posted in Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

