Good Bye Daddy

Today was a very difficult day for our family. My Dad lost his battle against cancer; our only consolation is that he is now pain free and can rest in peace.  I held it together most of the time, during the last two weeks with his hospitalization, home care and hospice until this morning when the mortuary people came to get Dad. When they wheeled his gurney out to the hearse I just had to follow, to go with him. I didn’t want him to leave. I felt just as I did when I was four years old and he had to leave for work and wouldn’t take me; I wanted to go with him, to be with him. I ran down the flight of stairs of our flat (aka-apartment) in England chasing him only to fall and bump my head on the corner of the wall. Today, as I watched the need to follow him was equally as strong; instinctual to again chase after him, however, this time when I caught up with him, all I could do is say “Good bye ~ I love you”,  as the realization hit me. This time “my Daddy” won’t be coming home tonight.
About Grandee

Grandee… that’s me Family is first and foremost to me. My husband and I are blessed with two children and their wonderful spouses who have given us five wonderful grand children. Hence my name “Grandee”… given to me by our daughter's first child.
This entry was posted in Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

