Dear Dad,

283865_1745067841397_2179065_n

Dear Dad,

I sure do miss you; so do Brendan, Bernadette, and Anne. There is so much I want to talk to you about. I miss our weekly conversations, especially today. It is very cold outside, which makes me think of you reminding me it’s time to start my garden seeds in the house.  I miss our many discussions about what new varieties to start each season. I think I’ll plant the remainder of those Blue Bell seeds, you sent me, this year.
Dad, I don’t know if you can look down here and see what’s happening. I think it would break your heart to see all your trust and love for “that one person” so disrespected. We know you trusted that she would honor your request and follow your instructions on how you wanted everything done. Even though she has chosen to ignore your requests and keep everything for herself, it’s all right, Dad. It’s not your fault. We don’t blame you for trusting her. We know how much you really loved each and everyone one of us. I’m just thankful I was there to hear for myself what your true wishes were. Had you not told Tom and I what, and how, you wanted everything to be, I think we would have all felt rejected by you. Luckily for us, we can be wrapped in the knowledge of your complete love for each and everyone of us.
More than anything, we wish you were still here with us. We chose a beautiful tree overlooking the lake as a symbol of the strength of your love for us. The many branches represent your family, children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren. It will be adorned with a plaque to honor you, our father and grand father. It’ll be a relaxing place to go visit and feel a bit closer to you, take walks around the lake, watch some soccer games, ride horses or just play. As we look around, we will be reminded with fondness of our days spent with you, hiking, skiing, horseback riding, hunting, fishing, and camping,  as well as all those weekends spent at the beach. Not to mention those lazy Saturday afternoons just kicking back with you. No one will ever be able to take all those memories away from us.
I miss you, I thought maybe if I sent you an email I would feel closer to you. Silly, I know, but hey Dad, I love you and am willing to try.
Love,
Deirdre
 
About Grandee

Grandee… that’s me Family is first and foremost to me. My husband and I are blessed with two children and their wonderful spouses who have given us five wonderful grand children. Hence my name “Grandee”… given to me by our daughter's first child.
This entry was posted in Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

