Failed using a Crockpot for Cooking

Crock-Pot-Slow-CookerOnce again my Crockpot handles broke as I was picking it up to move it to the other counter for serving. This is the third one that this has happened too. I almost dropped it, thankfully Iwas able to set it back down on the counter without any problems. Luckily for us Costco takes them back without any hassle.

IMG_3003

Instead of buying another Crockpot we are going to try something different using our ceramic Lodge Dutch Oven. Which can be used on the stove, wood stove or a campfire. It’s just the right size to make a double batch of anything; soups, stews or a nice roasted chicken. The thought came to my Hubby’s mind “What about a hot plate?” Could we make a slow cooker out of the Lodge Dutch Oven – would it work similar to a Crock Pot. Since I’m not fond of working outside with a flame on in the house this sounded like a great idea.

IMG_3291Today, using an Aroma hot plate and my Lodge Dutch Oven I browned the meat, onions, and garlic on high. Worked wonderfully. Then added boiling water, from the tea kettle, and the dehydrated vegetables: corn, green beans, peas, squash as well as some dehydrated bell peppers and onions. Left it on High (dial at center of word) for about 10 minutes since it was boiling aggressively I turned it down to the “I” in Medium it continued to boil rather rapidly necessitating I turned the dial to the end of the word medium hoping for a low boil. Still not quite low enough so I turned it to the “L” in Low. Which seems to work perfect. The only negative I’ve noticed so far is the hot plate itself is a bit small for the Dutch Oven. I’ll have to check to to find a larger based heating element.  But the concept works wonderfully. 

About Grandee

Grandee… that’s me Family is first and foremost to me. My husband and I are blessed with two children and their wonderful spouses who have given us five wonderful grand children. Hence my name “Grandee”… given to me by our daughter's first child.
Image | This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Failed using a Crockpot for Cooking

  1. Another thing that can help is to put a HEAT DISPURSER under the pot. The food can cook on the lowest setting all day without burning.

    • Grandee says:

      Charla,
      Today was the first day using it, once I figured out the settings all was good. It has a solid top on it – not the coil type. My problem was my lack of knowledge to be honest. How ever the Dutch oven does seem a bit big for the size of the hot plate. Although, the hot plate does work wonderfully, the stew
      tastes great.

Leave a Reply

