Juicing Fast Days 1 thru 3

Why did I decide to do juicing? Well, after watching Joe Cross’ movie “Fat Sick and Almost Dead. I thought it might help me. Since I too, have a compromised immune system. So if I too can reboot it and improve my health and energy level, that would be wonderful. This is supposed to be a 10 day journey towards better health.  I’m thinking 10 days is a great start and after that we can re-evaluate my progress. I understand that the 3rd day has the highest dropout – but then to say one went five days is a successful venture.

Preparation – Bought a juicer, lots of organic veggies: Kale, Apples, Carrots, Celery and more.

Day One – I felt good, not hungry which surprised me. Tired in the afternoon but honestly thought that was due to the fact that I was up late the night before and woke up early this morning. Was a lot easier than I expected. Goofed up on the first juicing – recipe said lemon. Boy was it strong! Was having so much fun just dropping everything in the juicer    -missed the recipe called for “1/2” a lemon. I can say that even later throughout the day the taste didn’t seem so bad. Nothing like a smoothie though!

Day Two – I slept well last night. I woke up with a dull headache. No sinus issues though. Decided to use the organic peaches that I had in the freezer for breakfast. Then thought they’d take to long to defrost so I did the organic berries, kale, apple, carrot and celery. I know, I’m suppose to use fresh fruit but I had these in the freezer, they were fresh when I bought them from the farmer. Later after the peaches defrosted I juiced those with some cabbage more carrots, celery and an apple. I might add there is no way I’d ever have eaten all of that in one day.  The chickens like the pulp. Since this is new to me I am not ready to clean the pulp out of the pulp container and save for baking later on when I start to eat whole food again. Seems the headache wins on simplicity at the moment. The taste seems to be more acceptable today. I’m impressed with how many vitamins are in Kale. I’m wondering what I was thinking – this headache is not going away, plus my leg muscles are cramping – evidently this is part of the detoxification. I understand it gets worse before it gets better. Maybe those of us who are really in need of detoxing have more symptoms.

Day 3 – Again I slept well. Woke up with a headache again, definitely not handling that well at all. Had a cup of plain green tea -guess one could say that is tea juice! Headache seemed to disappear so I’m good. I feel as is my brain is in a thick fog, muscles seems to hurt in random places. Yesterday, it was the back of my neck today the around my ribcage. Although, I will say today everything tastes better. This is definitely an acquired taste. Kale seems a bit sharp to me. In order to drink enough of this I have to eat – so to speak – 4 times a day. Hubby is having a fresh veggie/fruit juice with me for breakfast and still eating his lunch and dinner. He’s just about cleaned all the leftovers out of the fridge. He jokingly said today “Good thing we are not doing this together – we would probably kill each other.” Not literally, but you get the idea. Guess I’m a bit cranky??? Half way through day 3 so I’m feeling more optimistic that I’ll be able to go the 10 days at least. But I do need my newly appreciated afternoon naps…lol

Day 3 completed…. just have to wait and see what day 4 brings. Watching hubby eat a really delicious looking burrito for his dinner was really tough tonight!

About Grandee

Grandee… that’s me Family is first and foremost to me. My husband and I are blessed with two children and their wonderful spouses who have given us five wonderful grand children. Hence my name “Grandee”… given to me by our daughter's first child.
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

