Juice Fast Days 8 and 9

Day 8 – Honestly, I can’t believe I’ve made it this far. No chewable food for eight days. But I’m ready for real food. Last night I dreamt about using an avocado spread on my sandwich instead of mayo!

I did this to jump-start my immune system however; I’ve noticed a couple of things that I didn’t really expect. My elbows and knees don’t burn like they are fire all the time. I always noticed it more when it’s cold. My body isn’t near as painful and tender to the touch as it was before this fast. What I was hoping for was my allergies to get better.  I’ve not taken a sinus pill since I started this and although, they are not complete clear, they are so much better. Which tells me fruits; veggies and water were not the problem.

From this exercise I’ve learned that Hippocrates was right when he said”Let Food be thy Medicine, and Medicine be thy Food”.  I feel better and today I am starting to have some energy again.

This afternoon I ate my first meal, which is what I’m supposed to do for the next two days, eat a small salad at lunch to give my stomach time to adjust to food slowly.  That way when my 10 days are up I can eat food. It was suggested that I eat a salad of mixed greens. I did, I shredded some carrots, cut up some onions and then squished an avocado all up and squeezed half a lemon on the salad.  Saw it on “Engine 2 Diet” movie; it was really good I was surprised at how good it was. Juicing for dinner and breakfast till Wednesday 🙂

Day 9 – All this energy that everyone talks about isn’t happening for me. I still feel sluggish. Yes, I have more energy than I did the last few days but not as much I had before I started this journey. Once I start eating food again I’m sure I’ll gain weight my back and my energy will return. With the return of my energy, and sticking to a simplified diet with small amounts of sugar and fats should help me lose the unwanted weight.

I rode my horse again today. I’m so out of shape that short rides is all I can do at the moment. I’ll be taking it slow and steady for a while. Barb is such a patient horse. She has a gentle mind that’s for sure.

Had my salad for lunch again today. Felt good to get to eat something. It was a small salad – almost didn’t finish. I had kale, spinach, chard, lettuce, carrots, onions, cucumbers. Think I’ll add tomatoes tomorrow. I added them in tonight’s juice.

One more day 🙂

About Grandee

Grandee… that’s me Family is first and foremost to me. My husband and I are blessed with two children and their wonderful spouses who have given us five wonderful grand children. Hence my name “Grandee”… given to me by our daughter's first child.
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

