Juicing Update

Juicing kicked off a new lifestyle for us on February 23rd of this year. We don’t juice everyday or even regularly but we do try to juice once a week. We also do smoothies with fruit, Almond or Coconut milk weekly. We have changed to non-meat, non-sugar diet.  I haven’t eaten any meat since I began the juicing, hubby has on a few occasions. Been essentially sugar-free. We did have some cake at friend’s house and a few days later had some of SIL’s B-day cake. But that’s all the intentional sugar I’ve had. The results for me are rather slow, but hubby has lost 25 + pounds, however, I have only lost 15+ pounds.

What is most amazing though is my allergies are minimal in comparison to what they were. I do see some symptoms when I feed the grass hay to the horses or when the wind is blowing a lot. But, nothing like what I used to have endure. My sinuses are clear most days and my skin doesn’t itch daily. My elbow no longer burns like it’s on fire when it gets a bit cold. Best of all, clothes I haven’t been able to wear in a long time fit!

Hubby had some dramatic medical results! His cholesterol dropped 50 points so much so that his doctor reduced his cholesterol meds to 1/2 of what he was taking. His blood pressure dropped down to normal 120/80.  She asked what he was doing differently and suggested he continue with this new lifestyle.  She suggested we eat organic but sometimes one can’t but eat the clean fifteen and organic the dirty dozen.

CLEAN FIFTEEN: Onions, Sweet corn, Pineapples, Avocado, Cabbage, Sweet peas, Asparagus, Mangoes, Eggplant, Kiwi, Cantaloupe (domestic), Sweet potatoes, Grapefruit, Papayas, and Mushrooms.

DIRTY DOZEN:  Apples, Strawberries, Grapes, Celery, Peaches, Spinach, Sweet bell peppers, Nectarines, Cucumbers, Potatoes, Cherry tomatoes, and Hot peppers.

This has been an amazing journey – we both feel better are more energetic and are busy getting our vegetable garden started. We realize that growing our own garden not only provides us with nutritious food it also provides us with exercise as well as saving us money. It’s a win win situation.

 

About Grandee

Grandee… that’s me Family is first and foremost to me. My husband and I are blessed with two children and their wonderful spouses who have given us five wonderful grand children. Hence my name “Grandee”… given to me by our daughter's first child.
This entry was posted in Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

